Gonna read ’til my eyes bleed

Or so I hope. Presently, I find myself, quite happily, at home in Indiana, where, at the moment, we enjoy absolutely beautiful weather. Sooner, rather than later, I intend to make use of down-time here to read. Travels to Chicago and to Texas and attempts to visit with as many people here as possible over the next three weeks will keep me busy, as will my trip to Yale and Boston (18 – 22 June), but, otherwise, I’ve few plans for the summer (although at some point I must find an internship). This being the case, I hope to update this web-log more frequently and, having become quite cognizant of my consistently being remiss in my post-undergraduate duties as a Program of Liberal Studies major, to wit, to read frequently, I hope to make my way through as many pages as possible. Forty-some books awaiting their turn rest on my bookshelf back in Maryland; the list in my head carries on well beyond. For now, a very incomplete list of intended reads, those that accompanied me to Indiana.

Orestes Brownson, The American Republic: Its Constitution, Tendencies, and Destiny (I’ve finished about sixty-five per cent of this one.)

Alexandre Dumas, The Three Musketeers

Wilhelm Röpke, A Humane Economy: The Social Framework of the Free Market

Wendell Berry, The Art of the Commonplace: The Agrarian Essays

Eric Freyfogle, The Land We Share: Private Property and the Common Good

The longer list includes Hawthorne, Faulker, O’Connor, E.F. Schumacher, Victor Davis Hanson, Russell Kirk, Edmund Burke, Bolingbroke, Chesterton, McCullough (1776 and John Adams), perhaps Tolstoy, and others, many of whom, seven hundred-plus miles from Hyattsville, I fail to recall at present.

2 Responses

  1. There are only a few people in America left who know who Allen Tate was.

  2. lBuIB5 hi! hice site!

Leave a Reply

