What’s this, a web-log? What’s this, change?

Okay, so I have been dreadfully remiss in tending to Nathancontramundi. I’ve been busy receiving speeding tickets and enjoying time with the family and Christmas and not getting plastered on New Year’s Eve and applications to Ph.D. programs in political science (theory specifically) and trying to be a healthier person and trying to read more frequently and so forth. I have more excuses, but I’ll spare you the annoyance. What matters is that I’m back (or so I say!) and hope to get back to more regular posting. I’ve never been a particularly fantastic blogger, but I think that, once upon a time, I wasn’t too bad. Maybe I can return to that point, and perhaps surpass it, at some point.

For now, I just want to express my complete lack of surprise, and my utter disappointment, at President-elect Obama’s decision to name yet another Clintonista, Leon Panetta, to his administration.

Panetta was a surprise pick for [heading the CIA], with no experience in the intelligence world. An Obama transition official and another Democrat disclosed his nomination on a condition of anonymity since it was not yet public.

I’m actually starting to think that Mr. Obama suffers from some form of schizophrenia. Calling for “Change” and proclaiming himself an outsider one day, he then asserts that this is not the time for America(‘s government, that is) to be led by inexperienced individuals (save, of course, for himself). And then he appoints to lead the CIA a man with no experience in the intelligence world. Yet he wants, presumably, as his desire to “win” in Afghanistan suggests, to “win” the “War on Terror”? Perhaps his health care plan will provide free psychological help?

Leave a Reply

